Beihang University (BUAA) is one of China’s best universities in science and technology. It was founded in 1952 with the merger of the aeronautical departments of eight top Chinese universities, including Tsinghua University, Tianjin University, and Xiamen University.


Today, Beihang is one of the nation’s foremost research universities supported by three national education initiatives – Project 211, Project 985 and Project 2011.


The University

President: Prof. Dr.-Ing. XU Huibin

Location: Beijing, China

Campus: Xueyuanlu (main campus), Shahe, Doudian

Mission in short: Knowledge, Discovery, Engagement


Global Presence

Beihang University Europe Office, based at ULB, Belgium

Confucius Institute, based at Kogakuin University, Japan

Member of T.I.M.E (Top Industrial Managers for Europe)

Member of University Consortia (Sino-Spanish, Sino-Russian, China-CEECs)


Faculty (as of December 31, 2015)

Faculty Members: 2,387

Academicians of Chinese Academy of Engineering: 16

Academicians of Chinese Academy of Sciences: 6


Enrolment (as of September 1, 2015)

Total: 29,951  

Bachelor students: 15,466

Master students: 9,133

Doctoral students: 4,305

International degree students: 1,067



Academic schools: 29

Undergraduate programs: 61

Master's programs: 76

Doctoral programs: 52



Funding: ¥2.47 billion for 2014 (¥1.2 million per capita, 1st among Chinese universities)

National Scientific and Technological Progress Awards: 4 First Prizes (2004-2016)

National Technological Invention Awards: 7 First Prizes (2004-2016)



Webpage updated in February 2017

University Brochure
University Slideshow